The 18 Disciplines of Bujinkan

Soke Dr. Maasaki Hatsumi senseiSoke Dr. Maasaki Hatsumi sensei

Ninjutsu, which makes up 3 of the ryu (styles) within Bujinkan, contains eighteen disciplines, forminng a complete and complimentary training for the warrior in martial arts. Sumarai and Ninja used these same disciplines although some techniques within each disciplined varied slightly.

The 18 disciplines are:

  1. Seishin-teki kyōyō (spiritual refinement)
  2. Taijutsu (unarmed combat)
  3. Kenjutsu (sword fighting)
  4. Bōjutsu (stick and staff fighting)
  5. Shurikenjutsu (throwing blades)
  6. Sōjutsu (spear fighting)
  7. Naginatajutsu (naginata fighting)
  8. Kusarigamajutsu (chain and sickle weapon)
  9. Kayakujutsu (fire and explosives)
  10. Hensōjutsu (disguise and animal morphing)
  11. Shinobi-iri (stealth and entering methods)
  12. Bajutsu (horsemanship)
  13. Sui-ren (water training)
  14. Bōryaku (military strategy)
  15. Chōhō (espionage)(spying)
  16. Intonjutsu (escaping and concealment)
  17. Tenmon (meteorology and astral projection)
  18. Chi-mon (geography)

Continue Reading – Nine-Ryuha of Bujinkan »»